ANIMA 04

 

The Society for Arts and Technology [SAT] presents

A Canadian showcase for computer animation
Debut edition: March 20 and 21, 2004

In collaboration with Vidéographe
and the special participation of
Montreal ACM SIGGRAPH

 

Tuesday, January 20, 2004 ­ The Society for Arts and Technology [SAT] and its partners, Montreal ACM SIGGRAPH and Vidéographe, are proud to invite you to the debut edition of ANIMA 04. scheduled for Saturday, March 20, and Sunday, March 21.

This invitation is extended to all animators, be they students, independent artists or industry employees.  Through this event, SAT and its partners aim to showcase Canadian talent in computer animation and encourage bridging with other disciplines that have been spawned by the digital culture.

ANIMA 04 will serve as an exclusive showcase for the artistic quality and technological advances in computer animation in Canada. The widespread use of tools and equipment for animation production and the growing interest in animation have triggered an upsurge in original creations resulting from individual, private and public initiatives.  Regrettably, until now no gatherings have highlighted the vitality of this sector and recognized the artists behind these works.  SAT initiated ANIMA 04 to create an annual meeting place for this community.  The event will culminate in the awarding of ANIM_ALL prizes at a gala evening.

The program includes projections of animation works from across Canada selected by the ANIMA 04 jury, the workshop Acting for Animators by Ed Hooks; the round table All about animation with René Morel Luc Otter and other renowned participants; a multimedia performance with the music of the composer Érik Satie; a presentation of SIGGRAPH’s Electronic Theater 2003, in special collaboration with Montreal ACM SIGGRAPH ; an exhibition of virtual network space entitled Virtual World of Art, a project by Thomas Soetens and Kora Van den Bulcke of Workspace-Unlimited. On Saturday evening, MIX_City will be animated by the collectif SAT[mix-sessions], which will screen real time animated works on site and live on the Internet.


SAT has hosted the monthly conferences of Montreal ACM SIGGRAPH since its inception in 2001.

 

 

 

top

 










   
ANIMA 04

ANIMA 04

La Société des arts technologiques [SAT] présente

ANIMA

ANIMA 04
Une vitrine canadienne de l’animation par ordinateur
Première édition : Les 20 et 21 mars 2004

Avec la collaboration de Vidéographe
et la participation spéciale de
ACM SIGGRAPH Montréal

La SAT et ses collaborateurs souhaitent souligner le talent canadien en animation par ordinateur et favoriser le rapprochement avec les autres disciplines issues de la culture numérique en présentant sa première vitrine de l'animation par ordinateur.

ANIMA 04 est l'occasion d'offrir une vitrine privilégiée sur la qualité artistique et les avancées technologiques de l'animation réalisée par ordinateur au Canada. Aujourd'hui, la démocratisation des outils de production et l'engouement pour l'animation favorisent un foisonnement de créations originales issues d'initiatives personnelles, privées et publiques. À ce jour, aucune manifestation ne permet de mettre en vitrine la vitalité de ce milieu et d'attribuer une reconnaissance à ses auteurs. En initiant ANIMA 04 , la SAT souhaite créer un rendez-vous annuel qui réunira cette communauté d'auteurs. L’événement sera clôturé par la remise des prix ANIM_ALL lors d’une soirée festive.

Le programme comprend : Les projections ANIMA_ALL des animations pancanadiennes sélectionnées par le jury d’ANIMA 04, une conférence Acting for Animators par Ed Hook ; une table ronde l’animation dans tous ses états avec des participants reconnus tels René Morel et Luc Otter ; une présentation du Théâtre électronique 2003 de SIGGRAPH, une collaboration spéciale de ACM SIGGRAPH Montréal ; une performance multimédia sur la musique de Érik Satie; une exposition de l’espace virtuel en réseau Virtual World of Art, un projet de Workspace-Unlimited par Thomas Soetens et Kora Van den Bulcke. La soirée du samedi, MIX_City sera animée par le collectif SAT[mix-sessions] qui traitera des animations en temps réel sur place et en direct sur Internet.

Pprogrammation

 

 

 

 

top

 

   
ANIMA 04